Entries tagged with “Adding” from CMS

Removing or Adding Users (Editors)
When Creating A New Task.



adding.gif


So it occurred to me after I wrote yesterday's entry about Removing or Adding Users (Editors) In A Task that I never really explained how to do it when you're creating a task from scratch. It's pretty much the same, but I figured a little clarification couldn't hurt. So buckle up and here we go...

1.    Sign Into Collage
2.    Go to your Inbox

Thumbnail image for go_to_inbox.jpg


3.Click on New to create a new task.
 

new_task.jpg



4.    A New Task pop up window will open.

new_task_window.jpg


5.  Select the Template for your department from the drop down menu. This is very important – selecting the wrong template or not selecting one at all can cause problems with your task.


select_template.jpg

5a. You can type the first letter of your department to jump to that part of the alphabet, or use the arrow to scroll down through the entire list.

template_dropdown.jpg


 6.    Make sure to name the task something specific about what you plan to edit or do in the task. Notice the red exclamation point that this is required and you can not continue without naming the task.

Once you name the task the exclamation point will become a green check mark. Then add a description with more information about the edits etc. you plan to make. The more information you provide, the faster we can review and approve the content and the faster it will go live. Once you’re done click next.

name_description_next.jpg

 

7.    Here’s where you add or remove the users. You should already be in the edit state. Check off the name or names of the users you want to get rid of and hit the Remove button. If you're adding a user instead of removing one skip down to #9.

Thumbnail image for remove_user.jpg


7a.  You can also remove multiple users to the task the same way as you added one, just select more than name and move them over to the box and then hit "ok" once you've selected all of the users you want to add.

Thumbnail image for remove_multiple_users.jpg


7b. After hitting o.k. a pop up window titled Notify MAY open - you will need to write an explanation for the removal - it can be as simple as "removing user from task". Notice that it is required  by the red exclamation point.

Thumbnail image for notify_removal1.jpg


7c. After you type something in the exclamation point will change to a green check mark. Then hit o.k. You will not be able to remove the user without writing an explanation.

Thumbnail image for notify_removal2.jpg

8.   Once you're done removing any users (editors) click "Next".

remove_or_add_users_click-next.jpg


9. To Add a user click on the Add button and a pop up window will open.

Thumbnail image for add_user.jpg


Thumbnail image for pop_up_window.jpg

 10.    Type in the first couple of initials of the Collage User name of the person you want to add (mpu in my case) and it will jump to the person.

Thumbnail image for type_in_name.jpg



10a. You can also just type in the first letter to skip through the alphabet or you can scroll down.

Thumbnail image for alphabet.jpgThumbnail image for scroll_down.jpg


 
11. Once you've found the person you want to, click the arrow button moving them into the box on the right side add hit OK.

Thumbnail image for add_user_arrow.jpgThumbnail image for add_user_arrow2.jpg

12. You can also add multiple users to the task the same way as you added one, just select more than name and move them over to the box and then hit "ok" once you've selected all of the users you want to add.
 

Thumbnail image for add_multiple_users.jpg


Thumbnail image for hit_ok.jpg

12a. Note: You MAY have to fill out a notification message similar to the process outlined in steps 7b. and 7c.


13. Once you're done adding any users (editors) click "Next".

remove_or_add_users_click-next.jpg


14. If you want to skip adding Assets (Pages) to edit, and skip to the end of this process - click on Finish.

finish_task_button.jpg


14a. This is the point in which you will add the assets (pages) you want to edit. These can also be edit after the fact when you open your task to make the edits. Click on "Add".

add_assets.jpg


15. A pop up window will open. You should see whatever folders you have access to. Navigate through those folders to the one that contains the page (s) you want to edit. Then click on the names of those files.


select_assets.jpg

16. Notice that once you click on any assets they will be added to the box at the bottom of the window. NOTE: if you mistakenly click on any other pages while navigating through the folder list, those too will be added to your task. ANYTHING you click on (other than the folders themselves) in this step will be added to the task. When you're done click "OK".

select_assets2.jpg


17. Notice that whatever asset (page) you select will be added to the New Task - Assets screen. If you've forgotten to add an asset, click on Add and repeat the process. Once you're done click on "Finish".

add_assets2.jpg


18. This will end the process of Creating a New Task.

THIS IS REALLY IMPORTANT: now you need to go back into your Inbox (see picture in step #2) and actually Open the Task.


19. Once you're in your Collage Inbox. Select the task you've just created and click on the blue name of it to open the task (listed under task name).

Thumbnail image for task_name.jpg


 20. Now make whatever edits you need and mark the task done - sending it down the line for approval.

Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for done2.jpg





Removing and Adding Users
(from a task that you've already created)


adding.gif


So you've created a task and you realize you forgot to add or remove someone from the list of editors for the task or you selected the wrong template when you created the task and now you're stuck with a list of editors a mile long instead of just you. What do you do next? Elementary my dear Watson - just remove or add the editors in question.


1.    Sign Into Collage
2.    Go to your Inbox

go_to_inbox.jpg


3.    Select the task you've already created and click on the blue name of it to open the task (listed under task name)
 

task_name.jpg


4. Once inside the task click on the edit button.


edit.jpg


 

5. Check the name or names of the users you want to get rid of and hit the Remove button. If you're adding a user instead of removing one skip down to #6.

remove_user.jpg



5a. You can also remove multiple users to the task the same way as you added one, just select more than name and move them over to the box and then hit "ok" once you've selected all of the users you want to add.


remove_multiple_users.jpg



5b. After hitting o.k. a pop up window titled Notify will open - you will need to write an explanation for the removal - it can be as simple as "removing user from task". Notice that it is required  by the red exclamation point.


notify_removal1.jpg


5c. After you type something in the exclamation point will change to a green check mark. Then hit o.k. You will not be able to remove the user without writing an explanation.

This will return you to the Overview inside the task (see picture following #4).


notify_removal2.jpg

6.    To Add a user click on the Add button and a pop up window will open.

 

add_user.jpg


pop_up_window.jpg


7.    Type in the first couple of initials of the Collage User name of the person you want to add (mpu in my case) and it will jump to the person (or at least near their name in the alphabet).

type_in_name.jpg


7a. You can also just type in the first letter to skip through the alphabet or you can scroll down using the arrow like you would on any web etc. page.

alphabet.jpgscroll_down.jpg

8. Once you've found the person you want to, click the arrow button moving them into the box on the right side add hit OK.

add_user_arrow.jpg add_user_arrow2.jpg

9. You can also add multiple users to the task the same way as you added one, just select more than name and move them over to the box and then hit "ok" once you've selected all of the users you want to add.
 

add_multiple_users.jpg


hit_ok.jpg

9a. Note: You MAY have to fill out a notification message similar to the process outlined in steps 5b. and 5c.


10. Now make whatever edits you need and mark the task done - sending it down the line for approval.
Thumbnail image for done2.jpg

Subscribe to feed Subscribe to this blog's feed

Subscribe to feed Search results matching “Adding”

Tags